Great post! I found this interesting. I also have a Pinterest. You will find next to no fashion or frills on it. That is largely because sifting through Pinterest and pinning the things you like is very much like going to the mall. You are surrounded by things that both interest and disinterest you, with a few things that might offend you or that you might be indifferent to. You pick what you like, and move on, leaving the rest behind you.

Are your choices wrong? Nope. Are others’ choices wrong? Nope. Just different. Pinterest is what it is. It is a social platform where people find common interests. I am puzzled that anyone could find that a threat to feminism, unless they want us to reject anything sufficiently militant and focus on what they feel to be properly feminist pursuits.

Come to think of it, that is pretty much the attitude that gave birth to feminism in the first place, no? For me, feminism is about freedom of choice, empowerment, and the ability to enjoy our lives and make our choices without being directed down ‘acceptable’ channels.

I certainly consider myself a feminist and I am damn proud of it. I would still think so if every piece of furniture I had was baby doll pink and covered with frills, and my own Pinterest board was nothing but catwalk stills and home design and pictures of myself in a retro kitchen dressed like June Cleaver.

ShoutOut! JMU

I recently read an article on how Pinterest is “killing feminism.”  When I first discovered the article, just a couple of weeks ago, I knew immediately that I wanted to do a blog entry on it, as I’ve felt pretty strongly about the issue since Pinterest’s inception in 2010.  I’m surprised at myself as I write this post though, because my opinion has radically changed over the span of the past two weeks.  Had I written on this subject in the midst of my initial passion, I’m sure I would have regretted it later.  You see, I initially had the idea that women were being superficial in using Pinterest, and that maybe the social media outlet was giving us a bad name.  But what exactly about women loving fashion is so wrong, and how is that a threat to feminism?  Isn’t a bigger threat when we start thinking it’s okay…

View original post 801 more words

Talk to me......

