Why Am I A Liberal?


I have posted before today of the chain of events that led to my dissatisfaction with the Republican Party, especially the ultra Conservative set.

In a great many ways, my own departure from the Republican mindset and journey to Liberalism mirrors this woman’s story. Very thought provoking. I refer to myself as a recovering Stepford Republican nowadays.

http://thebigslice.org/why-i-am-no-longer-a-republican/

Not all who need a helping hand are there of their own choosing  or in a dire situation of their own making.  Even if they were, I would still want to help them.  I cannot in good conscience belong to any party or ascribe to any set of ideals based on the core of I, Me, Mine.

I care more about my own family  and then my own friends more than I do for the rest of the world.  Of course I do.  Who doesn’t?  I don’t want to see those I love or have connections with suffer or do without.

That doesn’t mean I am not passionate about trying to make this world a better place for everyone, and working to assure that everyone, everywhere, has enough for their needs.  Who wouldn’t want that?  What kind of person only focuses on their own needs to the total exclusion of everyone else?  Not me.  Not anymore.  I am no longer a Republican, and I reject them.

They are lost.

10 thoughts on “Why Am I A Liberal?

  1. salpal1 says:

    I wish you would go to Congress. Not as a representative (I wouoldn’t wish that on anyone) but as a speaker in a mandatory training. You make it sound so straight forward and simple. And I think you could handle the folks who would say “well, little miss, it isn’t that simple in the real world”

    • Thank you. I have had a great deal of experience with being put in “my place” by some of my male family members and friends of the uber conservative frame if mind. It has certainly kept my debate skills sharp. It also reinforces to me exactly what I want to fight against.

    • jonolan says:

      No, it’s quite simple in the real world. Somebody has to pay for everything and that is the question that out host would have a hard time answering in a manner that would be meaningful, as would anyone.

      I can almost hear the simple questions:

      Q1: How much of your money and time do you give to these “deserving poor?”

      Q2: Why do you think you or anyone has the right to take from one deserving person in order to give to another?

      Q3: Why do you think you think you or anyone has the right to determine who is deserving of such wealth if the distribution of that wealth must be done be force?

      • We don’t feed trolls here. Be well.

      • jonolan says:

        I’m not trolling. Those are the questions I firmly believe they’d ask you, though not in so kind of a way, to their shame as opposed to you.

        There’s nothing wrong with wanting to make what you think would be a better world. The problem comes in when it time to figure how to pay for the improvements.

  2. jonolan says:

    So you prefer an ideology where you can tell – and use the threat of violence to force – others to give money to those you care about. Nice.

    • I checked out your blog. The thought process behind your comment is abundantly clear. I would recommend your writing to anyone considering political commentary, if only as an example of how to initiate intense debate.

  3. Daz says:

    On a related, and slightly twisted, note: I’ve found that mentioning that I’m a republican before pointing out that I’m British, and it just means I’m anti-monarchist, can have rather … amusing effects.

    Sometimes, I really worry about my sense of humour…

Talk to me......

