Raising Awareness, One Story At A Time………


I spent the last hour reading post after post on Patriarchy Survivor.  I stumbled across the link to it totally by accident while surfing Liberal and Feminist sites on Facebook (which often seems to yield the most interesting online locations to visit).  Once I got there, I found I was unable to stop reading.  According to the About Me page, the blog is devoted to the stories of survivors of personal & domestic violence, and told in their words.  There is also a link to the Facebook page to submit your own personal story.  I believe this is a powerful thing, and cannot say enough good things about anyone who wishes to raise awareness of these issues.  Please visit her.  If you have a woman in your life you hold dear, I cannot believe you will not take away something of value.  I certainly have, and I plan to visit again often.

6 thoughts on “Raising Awareness, One Story At A Time………

  1. Thanks for sharing this!

  2. thank you for the shout out! I just started the blog yesterday but I’m hoping it will take off soon 🙂

  3. Well that was quick… But a great read all the same, another follower to add to their list.

    • I was humbled by what I read, and it really struck a chord with me. In the years I worked Maternity, I dealt with cases not so far from some of the stories I read tonight. Some of them did not have happy endings. I am glad to see anyone trying to focus attention on domestic violence. Silence is a bad thing, and it has been hidden by cultural taboos for too long. We need to drag it into the light and get discussion going, then perhaps we will be able to help survivors in the way they need.

  4. What a great find… I’m going to be stuck there for ages now

Talk to me......

