Cringe-worthy, Yes…..But Mostly Sad……..


I avoided watching the RNC live because I knew ahead of time it would only make me yell at the television.  My kiddos already probably think I am goofy enough without watching mom yell “AAAARRRRGGGGHHHH!” at a tv, I think.

Once I started hearing all the buzz, though, naturally I had to check out what the fuss was about.  Oh, Clint.  Bless your heart.  Did you learn nothing from watching Charlie Sheen self destruct in front of the world?

I positively hurt for you while watching your surreal and frankly odd speech.  I grew up loving your gruff, no-nonsense characters in movies from The Beguiled to 2 Mules For Sister Sarah.  As I got older and began to follow your politics I seldom agreed with you but still respected you as a man true to his convictions.

This, though, was just dreadful.  I was embarrassed for you, and I can only imagine how you must feel in the backlash with senility jokes pouring in from every side.  No-one should have their deterioration on display like that.  It really isn’t funny.  It calls to my mind the descent of my grandmother, little by little, until she became almost a  caricature of the woman I had known by the end.

I am a little sadder today.  A man I have respected for a great many years, an icon of my movie watching youth, a man who (even when I abhorred his political ideology) stood for  his beliefs unspooled in front of all of us.

Sigh.

3 thoughts on “Cringe-worthy, Yes…..But Mostly Sad……..

  1. The Hook says:

    It was weird to watch, wasn’t it?
    Sorry I haven’t been around much lately, but my book, The Bellman Chronicles, will be FREE to download on Sept. 10 – 11! Check it out on my Amazon Kindle page.. You won’t be disappointed. And if you can slip me a review, I’d be forever grateful…

  2. gkinnard says:

    Agreed: it was embarrassing to see him behave like a senile old uncle that everyone avoids at the annual family reunion.

    • When I was young, I used to go to the store with my grandmother. I loved her dearly, and even at the age of 6 or 7 felt both embarrassed for her and protective of her when other people stared. She had Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s. I used to hold her checkbook down for her with one hand, and help her steady her hand with the other. Shortly before she had to stop writing checks altogether, she was down to just making a wiggly line, then finally an ‘x’ at the end. It still hurts to think about it. I believe who we are is an amalgamation of the sum of our life experiences, and the people we know, or meet, or even look up to make up a part of that. Thus, the way I looked up to Clint (as well as the way I loved my grandma) made up some of who I am today. To lose those things diminishes me a little.

Talk to me......

