Very interesting. I have often pondered the correlation between the slow disassociation from strong church ties and lifelong unquestioning faith that seems to follow increased exposure to that big ‘ol world outside the church. It does seem that the more you are exposed to free thinkers, examiners, & questioners…..the more you begin to see the inconsistencies of your religious upbringing.  I guess the moral of that tale is that if you want to remain part of your flock, you must remain a sheep.

Recovering Agnostic

Religion seems to fear secularism. I often hear people saying that secularism is a threat to religion, or treating it as synonymous with atheism. I find these arguments rather odd – secularism has no relation to religion, being a position that can be held by all beliefs or none, and it actually protects believers from persecution by ensuring that no religious belief can take precedence over others and claim the right to enforce its own particular dogma in the public sphere. But my own experience makes me wonder if that fear of secularism might be more rational than I previously thought.

View original post 709 more words

2 thoughts on “

  1. gkinnard says:

    “I guess the moral of that tale is that if you want to remain part of your flock, you must remain a sheep.” WOW! I love that! Are those your own words?

Talk to me......

