Robert Klitzman, M.D.: Am I My Genes? The Question Of Fate, Free Will And Genetics


Robert Klitzman, M.D.: Am I My Genes? The Question Of Fate, Free Will And Genetics.

Personally, I would take far less comfort in the idea of an all powerful creator being ultimately responsible for any genetic difficulties I might have.  It would bother me far less to believe that such things simply occur in nature, randomly, without prejudice.  An omnipotent being, by definition, certainly has the capability to make us all free of disease or predisposition to disease.  Why, then, make some individuals with faulty genes?  Argue that things MUST be this way, then God is not omnipotent.  Argue that it is by INTENT, then God is at best totally unconcerned with us and at worst a sadist.  This is not a creator I feel comfortable going to when things go badly.  I do believe in free will, but not because a creator allows me to.  Actually, the idea that our free will exists because God wants it that way is faulty.  If it is at God’s sufferance, it isn’t free will at all.  Nope, I am going to stick to my belief that sometimes things just align slightly off kilter and genes combine to cause poor outcomes.  No malice involved.

Talk to me......

